Skip to main content

SoNA Collaborates with Musicians Near and Far for Digital Symphonic Release on May 27th

thu27may6:00 pmSoNA Collaborates with Musicians Near and Far for Digital Symphonic Release on May 27thSoNA’s ‘Latency Canons’ by Ray Lustig Features Bay Area’s Friction Quartet, The Opus 76 Quartet of Kansas, University of Arkansas Artists and More

Event Details

In the final virtual performance of its 2020-21 Reimagined Season\, the Symphony of Northwest Arkansas (SoNA) will debut a new multimedia production in collaboration with musicians near and far – from San Francisco and England\, to local music students at the University of Arkansas.

SoNA will release Latency Canons by composer Ray Lustig on May 27\, 2021 at 6 p.m. CST. The work will premiere as a digital performance and be available for free on SoNA’s Facebook page\, YouTube channel\, and website at

Performed under the direction of SoNA Music Director Paul Haas\, Latency Canons is a multimedia work meant expressly for the digital space\, using the latency inherent in digital communication platforms for musical effects. Connecting with the current moment\, Latency Canons takes the unintended and artfully reframes it into musical splendor.

Latency Canons is a collaboration with the San Francisco Bay Area’s critically acclaimed Friction QuartetThe Opus 76 Quartet of Kansas City\, Kan.\, featuring SoNA Associate Concertmaster Zsolt Eder; a string quartet in Staffordshire\, England\, led by SoNA Concertmaster Winona Fifield; and a string quartet of music students at the University of Arkansas organized by UA faculty and esteemed local violinist/educator/performer\, Er-Gene Kahng.

Virtual Event Details

Event has already taken place!


(Thursday) 6:00 pm